Antwerp, Belgium
Tampico Flats
24 Oct. 1945

Hello, Milt,

It was certainly nice to hear from you, Milt, and to let you know I’ve got a typewriter too, I thought I’d give you it this way. I had to laugh at the first paragraph of your letter; yes I should get a higher rating soon now. I’ve only been a “Buck” for one and a half years-HA HA. By the way, I was told yesterday that my next job is in Battalion Supply as the big gun himself. Confidentially, I’ll believe it when I see it. “Lucky Strike, lament”

Your description of your new “HOME” sounds like a dream. The service you told me of reminds me of the Waldorf Astoria: SERVICE WITH A SMILE. All joking aside, I’m very glad you got a good deal. I hope I too can enjoy a little of your luxuriant domicile. That is. when I’m visiting.

Probably you have heard from Mac by now. Let me know how the “grisly haired old man” is getting along. You spoke of his going home in November as if it was a sure thing. I suppose you are right; yet I’m rather skeptical of the soundness of the Redeployment Program in Chanor Base. It seems to me there is a certain party with Brass holding up things. We still have men with 89 points in our outfit. Does that sound odd to you or just sad? Oh well, Golden Gate in ‘48 is still not so hypothetical, for me anyway.

Enclosed, you will find two pictures. I have typed on the back of each to clarify any civilian who may take a gander. I thought you might like a picture of our old friend, the “BUZZ BOMB”. Remember how he used to keep us company? You may wonder how I possed them, eh? Well one of my friends here had a couple he didn’t need so I inherited a few for myself. His name is Dick Leach. He told me tonight he is going to try to call you tomorrow by telephone. Let me know if you hear from him, buddy.

Milt, have you heard from home as yet? I have not even received a scratch. I guess I’m one of the unsung heroes or the forgotten man. I’ll give her one more week before I get excited or do anything rash. In the meantime, I’ll be looking forward to hearing from you again. In all sincerity, Milt, I do want to maintain our friendship. I don’t suppose we will be seeing much of each other after we’re out of the ARMY. but I would like to write a line now and then just so I don’t lose track of you. If you ever come through South Bend, please stop and see Gin and I. You are always welcome at 1106 Rosevelt St. If you don’t and I hear of it I’ll disclose to the world and your public how you mimiced Rosevelt in Camp Lucky Strike. “FOUR SCORE AND——-”

Milt, please try to get up this way. There is always a bunk for you at Tampico. If you need anything in the line of Supplies just drop a hint a week or so before you come and the requisition will go immediately.

I got a letter from Parisien the other day and he is a convoy commander. Also I heard from Lt. Howell. He is S-4 of a Port Bn. WOW, would I like to be with him now. HA HA.

Well, Buddy, don’t forget where I am and I am working on a jeep ride to see you in the near future. I’ll tell you more in my next letter.

Always a Friend

RODG